

## EJK Award and Honor List 1986-2025

2025			
Go Forth and Tell, Augusta Baker	Breanna J. McDaniel	Writer Award	
We Are Definitely Human	X. Fang	Illustrator Award	
The Last Stand	Antwan Eady	Writer Honor	
Emergency Quarters	Carlos Matias	Writer Honor	
Ernö Rubik and His Magic Cube	Kara Kramer	Illustrator Honor	
Bao's Doll	Bo Lu	Illustrator Honor	
2024			
Nell Plants a Tree	Anne Wynter	Writer Award	
The Only Way to Make Bread	Sarah Gonzales	Illustrator Award	
Sora's Seashells	Helena Ku Rhee	Writer Honor	
Just Like Grandma	Kim Rogers	Writer Honor	
Dancing Hands	Fran Alvarez	Illustrator Honor	
Benito Juárez Fights For Justice	Beatriz Gutierrez Hernandez	Illustrator Honor	
2023			
How to Say Hello to a Worm	Kari Percival	Writer Award	
Hot Dog	Doug Salati	Illustrator Award	
Everything in Its Place	Pauline David-Sax	Writer Honor	
Sometimes All I Need is Me	Juliana Perdomo	Writer Honor	
Emile and the Field	Chioma Ebinama	Illustrator Honor	
Where Butterflies Fill the Sky	Zahra Marwan	Illustrator Honor	
2022			
Out Into The Big Wide Lake	Paul Harbridge	Writer Award	
Lala's Words	Gracey Zhang	Illustrator Award	
Playing at the Border	Joanna Ho	Writer Honor	
Everybody in the Red Brick Building	Anne Wynter	Writer Honor	
Every Little Kindness	Marta Bartolj	Illustrator Honor	
Many Shapes of Clay	Kenehsa Sneed	Illustrator Honor	
2021			
Nana Akua Goes to School	Tricia Elam Walker	Writer Award	
Brick by Brick	Heidi Woodward Sheffield	Illustrator Award	
The Old Truck	Jarrett & Jerome Pumphrey	Writer Honor	
Can Bears Ski?	Raymond Antrobus	Writer Honor	
I'm Sticking With You	Steve Small	Illustrator Honor	
Cyclops of Central Park	Victoria Tentler-Krylov	Illustrator Honor	

2020		
Small in the City	Sydney Smith	Writer Award
Layla's Happiness	Ashleigh Corrin	Illustrator Award
Lawrence in the Fall	Matthew Farina	Writer Honor
Layla's Happiness	Mariahadessa Ekere Tallie	Writer Honor
One Fox: A Counting Book Thriller	Kate Read	Illustrator Honor
Lawrence in the Fall	Doug Salati	Illustrator Honor
2019		
Kitten and the Night Watchman	John Sullivan	Writer Award
Thank You, Omu!	Oge Mora	Illustrator Award
Lena's Shoes are Nervous	Keith Calabrese	Writer Honor
The Funeral	Matt James	Writer Honor
Alma and How She Got Her Name	Juana Martinez-Neal	Writer Honor
Julian is a Mermaid	Jessica Love	Illustrator Honor
Prickly Hedgehogs!	Jane McGuinness	Illustrator Honor
2018		
Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut	Derrick Barnes	Writer Award
Muddy: The Story of Blues Legend Muddy Waters	Evan Turk	Illustrator Award
-		Writer Honor
Laundry Day	Jessixa Bagley Rachael Cole	Writer Honor
City Moon Things to Do		Writer Honor
A Different Pond	Elaine Magliaro Bao Phi	Writer Honor
A Different Pond	Thi Bui	Illustrator Honor
The One Day House	Bianca Diaz	Illustrator Honor
Windows	E.B. Goodale	Illustrator Honor
Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut	Gordon C. James	Illustrator Honor
2017		
A Piece of Home	Jeri Watts	Writer Award
Daniel Finds a Poem	Micha Archer	Illustrator Award
Excellent Ed	Stacy McAnulty	Writer Honor
The Journey	Francesca Sanna	Writer Honor
The Girl with the Parrot on Her Head	Daisy Hirst	Illustrator Honor
The Journey	Francesca Sanna	Illustrator Honor

2016		
Poet: The Remarkable Story of Geor Moses Horton	ge Don Tate	Writer Award
Sonya's Chickens	Phoebe Wahl	Illustrator Award
A Crow of His Own	Megan Dowd Lambert	Writer Honor
The Bear Ate Your Sandwich	Julia Sarcone-Roach	Writer Honor
Mother Bruce	Ryan T. Higgins	Illustrator Honor
Rude Cakes	Rowboat Watkins	Illustrator Honor
2015		
Hana Hashimoto, Sixth Violin	Chieri Uegaki	Writer Award
Shh! We Have a Plan	Chris Haughton	Illustrator Award
Edda: A Little Valkyrie's First Day of		
School	Adam Auerbach	Writer Honor
Firebird	Misty Copeland	Writer Honor
A Boy and a Jaguar	Alan Rabinowitz	Writer Honor
Little Elliot, Big City	Mike Curato	Illustrator Honor
Grandfather Gandhi	Evan Turk	Illustrator Honor
2014		
Tea Party Rules	Ame Dyckman	Writer Award
Rain!	Christian Robinson	Illustrator Award
I Love You, Nose! I Love You, Toes!	Linda Davick	Writer Honor
Sophie's Squash	Pat Zietlow Miller	Writer Honor
My Grandpa	Marta Altés	Illustrator Honor
Tea Party Rules	K.G. Campbell	Illustrator Honor
Take Me Out to the Yakyu	Aaron Meshon	Illustrator Honor
2013		
And Then It's Spring	Julie Fogliano	Writer Award
Mom, It's My First Day of Kindergarten!	Hyewon Yum	Illustrator Award
The Stamp Collector	Jennifer Lanthier	Writer Honor
My Heart Will Not Sit Down	Mara Rockliff	Writer Honor
It Jes' Happened	Don Tate	Writer Honor
Lester's Dreadful Sweaters	K.G. Campbell	Illustrator Honor
Ganesha's Sweet Tooth	Sanjay Patel	Illustrator Honor

2012		
Tia Isa Wants a Car	Meg Medina	Writer Award
Same, Same but Different	Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw	Illustrator Award
Same, Same but Different	Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw	Writer Honor
Cinnamon Baby	Nicola Winstanley	Writer Honor
Lola's Fandango	Anna Witte	Writer Honor
Lola's Fandango	Micha Archer	Illustrator Honor
Not Inside this House!	David Ercolini	Illustrator Honor
2011		
I Know Here	Laurel Croza	Writer Award
Bunny Days	Tao Nyeu	Illustrator Award
2010		
Most Loved in All the World	Tonya Cherie Hegamin	Writer Award
Only a Witch Can Fly	Taeeun Yoo	Illustrator Award
2009		
Garmann's Summer	Stian Hole	Writer Award
Bird	Shadra Strickland	Illustrator Award
2008		
Leaves	David Ezra Stein	Writer Award
The Apple Pie that Papa Baked	Jonathan Bean	Illustrator Award
2007		
For You Are a Kenyan Child	Kelly Cunnane	Writer Award
Mystery Bottle	Kristen Balouch	Illustrator Award
2006		
My Best Friend	Mary Ann Rodman	Writer Award
Silly Chicken	Yunmee Kyong	Illustrator Award
2005		
Going North	Janice N. Harrington	Writer Award
The Night Eater	Ana Juan	Illustrator Award
2004		
Yesterday I Had the Blues	Jeron Ashford Frame	Writer Award
My Name is Yoon	Gabi Swiatkowska	Illustrator Award
2003		
Ruby's Wish	Shirin Yim Bridges	Writer Award
Ruby's Wish	Sophie Blackall	Illustrator Award

2002		
Freedom Summer	Deborah Wiles	Writer Award
Freedom Summer	Jerome Lagarrigue	Illustrator Award
2001		
Henry Hikes to Fitchburg	D.B. Johnson	Writer Award
Uptown	Bryan Collier	Illustrator Award
2000		
Dear Juno	Soyung Pak	Writer Award
1999		
Elizabeti's Doll	Stephanie Stuve-Bodeen	Writer Award
1997		
<i>Calling the Doves (El canto de las palomas)</i>	Juan Felipe Herrera	Writer Award
1995		
Taxi! Taxi!	Cari Best	Writer Award
1993		
Tar Beach	Faith Ringgold	Writer Award
1991		
Tell Me a Story, Mama	Angela Johnson	Writer Award
1989		
Anna's Special Present	Yoriko Tsutsui	Writer Award
1987		
Jamaica's Find	Juanita Havill	1987 Writer Award
1986		
The Patchwork Quilt	Valerie Flournoy	1986 Writer Award